About us

our team:
Dr. John Green

Lead Pastor

jgreen@wmbc.net

Herbert Beck

Pastor of Music & Worship

hbeck@wmbc.net

Chase Campbell

Pastor of Young Adults & College

ccampbell@wmbc.net

Matt Crabtree

Pastor to Students 

mcrabtree@wmbc.net

Dr. Chad Crawford

Campus Pastor / CumberlandKnox

ccrawford@wmbc.net

Chad Davenport

Associate Student Pastor

cdavenport@wmbc.net

Steven Hoover

Associate Worship Director

shoover@wmbc.net

Dale Maddox

WallaceKnox Administrator

dmaddox@wmbc.net

Jarred Morgan

Pastor of Creative Arts & Communication

jmorgan@wmbc.net

Jeff Stevens

Pastor to Children & Families

jstevens@wmbc.net

Grant Williams

CumberlandKnox Administrator

gwilliams@wmbc.net

Kent Williams

Pastor of Pastoral Care

kwilliams@wmbc.net

Darrell Wright

Pastor of Discipleship & Leadership Development

dwright@wmbc.net

Sandy Bolton

Missions Director

sbolton@wmbc.net

Megan Kewaza

Director of Children's Ministry

mkewaza@wmbc.net

Jennifer Harbin

Ministry Assistant

jharbin@wmbc.net

Nancy Harbin

Ministry Assistant

nharbin@wmbc.net.com

Nancy McBee

Ministry Assistant

nmcbee@wmbc.net.com

Jane McPherson

Ministry Assistant

jmcpherson@wmbc.net

Laura Simpson

Ministry Assistant

lsimpson@wmbc.net

Kristi Spencer

Ministry Assistant

kspencer@wmbc.net

Rita Laxton

Finance Manager

rlaxton@wmbc.net.com

Emily Summers

Business Office Manager

esummers@wmbc.net

Kristi Bell

Weekday Ministries Director

kbell@wmbc.net

Tim Bennett
Martha Gammons
Our history

On Sunday morning, September 21, 1952, under the leadership of the missions committee of Arlington Baptist Church, the first service of the Clinton Highway Baptist Chapel was conducted in the Tillery Theater on Clinton Highway with 73 people present.

On July 6, 1953, in the afternoon following the first service in the new location, the church was duly constituted, adopting the name Wallace Memorial Baptist Church in honor of Dr. William Lindsay Wallace, medical missionary to China for 17 years until his death at the hands of the Communists in 1951.

In 1964, Wallace's pastor at the time, Dr. Jim McCluskey (far right in photo), and a team from Wallace Memorial Baptist Church planted Cumberland Baptist Church in order to reach the Cumberland Estates community.

In 1988, as the church began to plan the construction of a new worship center, the idea grew to have an illuminated cross that would be high enough to be seen from nearby Interstate 75. The entire tower was designed with a stained glass front that would extend to the cross itself. The cross was erected on Sunday morning, October 7, 1990, as a part of the worship service of Wallace Memorial.

On November 15, 2015 after a five month period of prayer and teaching, Cumberland Baptist Church voted with a strong majority of 85% to dissolve its charter and become part of the Wallace Memorial Baptist family of faith through the Legacy Church Planting strategy.

In July 2017, Wallace voted unanimously to name Dr. John Green IV as the fourth Lead Pastor in the history of Wallace Memorial Baptist Church.

Previous Lead Pastors:

  • Rev. AW Parker (1953-1958)

  • Dr. Jim McCluskey (1959-1996)

  • Dr. Mike Boyd (1997-2016)